CanYouTrustThem.com

The FREE Global Name, Shame & Claim Register


Advanced Complaints Search

Search claims by the following criteria

Search by keyword: (search also in comments: )
Company / Person name:      or     select company / person
Country:     City:
Select claim category:
Display claims related to: Companies & Individuals       Individuals Only     Companies Only

Searching Results

Found: 75


1   2   3   4   »»   »»»



IDCompany / PersonClaim TitleIncident DateAddedPostsAdd commentDetails
29907ambassador building and construction vincent lowes also known as vinny. [Washington Tyne & Wear]
Total claims:1
NON COMPLETION OF BUILDING WORKS AFTER A YEAR »21/08/201202/10/20134
COMPLAINT CONCERNING MR VINCENT LOWES ALSO KNOWN AS VINCE LOWES (SALES DIRECTOR) AMBASSADOR BUILDING AND CONSTRUCTION WASHINGTON TYNE AND WEAR ENGLAND.

WE EMPLOYED AMBASSADOR BUILDING AND CONSTRUCTION TO UNDERTAKE A TWO STOREY REAR EXTENSION TO OUR PROPERTY AFTER FINDING THE COMPANY ON THE RATED PEOPLE WEBSITE ADVERTISED ON THE TV. THE CONTRACT WAS SIGNED ON THE 21/08/12 BY MR LOWES ON BEHALF OF AMBASSADOR AND AGREED WORK WOULD BE COMPLETED BY THE 20/11/12. THE WORK WAS NOT COMPLETED BY THIS DATE FOR ONE REASON AND ANOTHER (BASICALLY NO WORKMEN ON SITE FOR DAYS / WEEKS AT A TIME) THEREFORE ON THE 27/11/12 A REVISED COMPLETION DATE 21/12/12 WAS AGREED. AS OF TODAY'S DATE 2/10/13 NEARLY A YEAR LATER THE WORK TO OUR HOME IS NOT FINISHED.

A LETTER WAS SENT TO MR LOWES ON THE 25/4/13 REGARDING HIS BREACH OF CONTRACT. FINALLY HE CONTACTED US WITH AN OFFER TO RESOLVE THIS. A REFUND OF £4000, COMPLETION OF SOME WORKS AND REPAIRS CAUSED BY AMBASSADOR DURING THE BUILD AND WE WOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR SOME WORK AMBASSADOR HAD NOT DONE, PUT IN DRAINS, FIT EN-SUITE/TILING, BUILD RETAINING PATIO WALL ETC. DESPITE TAKING A FINANCIAL LOSS WE AGREED TO MR LOWES OFFER TO HOPEFULLY PUT AN END TO THIS. MR LOWES INFORMED US HE DID NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO PAY US IN FULL BUT WOULD PAY US AT £500 PER MONTH COMMENCING JULY OF THIS YEAR NOT IDEAL HOWEVER WE AGREED. MR LOWES AGREED WITH THE TIMESCALE GIVEN TO COMPLETE HIS WORKS AS PER CONTRACT.

MR LOWES ASKED MY HUSBAND SEVERAL WEEKS AGO TO ARRANGE FOR REPAIRS TO SOME BRICKWORK WHICH WAS LEFT BY AMBASSADOR WHICH WHAT CAN ONLY BE DESCRIBED AS A MESS (OF WHICH I HAVE PHOTOGRAPHIC EVIDENCE) AND MR LOWES AGREED TO PAY £100 ADDITIONAL TO SEPTEMBERS PAYMENT. MR LOWES HAS ONLY MADE ONE PAYMENT OF £500 IN JULY NO PAYMENTS RECEIVED IN AUGUST OR SEPTEMBER, NO SIGN OF THE £100 AND NO ATTEMPTS BY HIM TO MAKE ANY PAYMENT WHATSOEVER OF ANY AMOUNT TO US.

WE ALSO HAVE NO INSULATION IN THE EXTENSION. MR LOWES INFORMED US IN AUGUST HE HAD THE INSULATION AND WOULD DELIVER THIS (WE AGREED TO OVERLOOK THE FACT AMBASSADOR WERE RESPONSIBLE FOR ACTUALLY INSTALLING THIS). MR LOWES MADE PROMISE AFTER PROMISE HE WOULD DELIVER THIS ON SUCH AND SUCH A DATE TO NO AVAIL. FINALLY HE SAID HE WOULD DELIVER THIS WK COMMENCING 9TH AUGUST NO INSULATION ARRIVED. TO OUR DISMAY MR LOWES WAS ACTUALLY OUT OF THE COUNTRY ON HOLIDAY IN PORTUGAL WK COMMENCING 9TH AUGUST. TO DATE NO INSULATION HAS ARRIVED, NO MONIES AND NONE COMPLETION OF ANY WORKS / REPAIRS. I HOPE MR LOWES IS NICE AND WARM IN HIS HOUSE!.

I NOTE LAST YEAR COLDEST WINTER ON RECORD WE HAD NO HEATING AND OUR PROPERTY WAS LEFT OPEN TO THE ELEMENTS, SLEEPING ON A MATTRESS ON THE FLOOR IN THE LOFT WITH ONLY AN ELECTRIC HEATER FOR WARMTH - HENCE MASSIVE ELECTRIC BILL. WE HAVE HAD NEARLY A YEAR WITH A CATALOGUE OF EVENTS. I COULD WRITE A BOOK. I HAVE PHOTOGRAPHS, FOOTAGE ETC TO SUPPORT ALL THAT I CLAIM.

MR LOWES HAS INFORMED US IF WE PROCEED WITH LEGAL ACTION HE WILL ENSURE WE RECEIVE AS LITTLE AS POSSIBLE PER WEEK AS HE WILL GO ON THE DOLE AND DECLARE HIMSELF BANKRUPT. PERSONALLY I AM PURELY DISGUSTED AT THIS.

ALL OF WHAT I CLAIM IS TRUE ALTHOUGH I'M SURE MR LOWES WILL NO DOUBT DENY THIS. I AM AWARE WE ARE NOT THE ONLY PERSONS WHO HAVE BEEN LEFT IN THIS SITUATION BY HIM AND I AM ABLE TO PROVIDE EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT ALL THAT I CLAIM.

I NOTE RATED PEOPLE COMPLAINTS DEPT HAVE BEEN EXTREMELY HELPFUL IN THIS MATTER. MR LOWES WAS NOT THE ACTUAL ACCOUNT HOLDER AT RATED PEOPLE HE DID NOT DECLARE THIS TO US THEREFORE RATED PEOPLE ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE. WE PURELY THOUGHT WE HAD FOUND AND CONTRACTED WITH A REPUTABLE BUILDER.

I NOTE MR LOWES HAS SENT A TEXT TODAY STATING HE IS DECLARING HIMSELF BANKRUPT (AGAIN - THIS IS OPEN PUBLIC INFORMATION.

I HAVE PHOTOGRAPHS WHICH I SHALL UPLOAD IN DUE COURSE AND INTEND TO PURSUE THIS.

IN SHORT £3600 REMAINS OUTSTANDING, COMPLETION OF SOME WORKS AND REPAIRS CAUSED BY AMBASSADOR AS AGREED BY MR LOWES, OR FURTHER MONETARY AMOUNT TO COVER THESE.

I HAVE INFORMED MR LOWES ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS WE PURELY WANT WHAT HE CONTRACTED FOR AND AGREED TO THAT IS ALL TO RESOLVE THIS ONCE AND FOR ALL. MR LOWES HAS MADE NO FURTHER ATTEMPTS TO RESOLVE THIS AND HAS PURELY WALKED AWAY FROM THE JOB HE WAS CONTRACTED TO UNDERTAKE AND LEFT REPAIRS UNFINISHED WORK ETC.

IF ANYONE ELSE HAS EXPERIENCED SAME RELATING TO THIS COMPANY / MAN. PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME. I WOULD ALSO URGE OTHERS NOT TO PART WITH YOUR HARD EARNED CASH IF SOMEONE TELLS YOU THEY HAVE CASH FLOW PROBLEMS ETC. I WOULD NOT WANT ANYONE ELSE TO EXPERIENCE WHAT WE HAVE GONE THROUGH FOR THE PAST YEAR IT HAS BEEN HELL FOR US AND OUR FAMILY. YOUR DREAM CAN SUDDENLY TURN INTO YOUR WORST NIGHTMARE!!!! I PERSONALLY DO NOT KNOW HOW SOME PEOPLE CAN SLEEP AT NIGHT ITS DISGUSTING - AGAIN THIS IS MY OWN VIEWPOINT.

WE HAVE ALSO RECEIVED WHAT CAN ONLY BE DESCRIBED AS A THREATENING TEXT MESSAGE FROM THIS MAN. HOW LOW IS HE PREPARED TO GO.

I INTEND TO PURSUE THIS MATTER UNTIL THIS IS SATISFACTORILY RESOLVED BY BOTH PARTIES. MR LOWES HAS NOT ADHERED TO HIS CONTRACT, WORKS OUTSTANDING AND MONIES.












more details »


20443dunster house [Bedford]
Total claims:3
Dont be fooled by papaerwork »30 june201102/08/20113
I have ordered two double glazed windows. Doors will not open.
When I tried to complain, my measurements got the blame !

more details »


632Travis Homes Ltd [Kilmarnock,East Ayrshire]
Total claims:2
Compensation for mayhem caused »06 July 200713/01/20092

Purchased from this company a two floored converation within a 200 year old country house which was converted to modern standard.  But Travis Homes employed sub-contractors to carryout the renovation. The standard looked good on the outside however hours after moving in we discovered faults from faulty materials, to sub standard materials, bad workmanship, foremen and site agents (six site agents in the last year and a half) who were not checking if tradesmen were completing there work correctly, resulting in ten water leaks,upper floor erected outside NHBC buildmark guidelines, kitchen floor collapsed fifteen millimeters, roof leaks in two places, (awaiting Travis Homes to attend to make water tight have been waiting eighteen months) awaiting the completion of snagging issues which have not been addressed, leaking windows, mould around windows, (still waiting for them to fix after eighteen months) guttering which is not working correctly,water under floor which is the result of all the leaks causing fowl smeel under stairs, doors and walls not erected correctly, central heating radiators missing from three rooms, electrical saftey issues now resolved, industrial dehumidifier switched on 24/7 for ten days to withdrawn water from within the stone walls due to heavy rain gaining entry to the walls surrounding my property. 


The list is endless with Tony Brown Managing Director refusing compensation because he thinks all the problems arose from the sub-contractors (which he employed) and not himself.


This company is so well known at NHBC giving there company details is not required because of the numerious complaints and there refusal to repair any major issues.       


more details »


22948Miller Homes [Basingstoke]
Total claims:2
Liable for expired mortgage offer »5/1/1210/01/20122
The claim should become clear from reading the two below emails I have sent to Miller Homes...

Email sent to Miller Group CEO and Managing Directors on 9th Jan 2012:
To whom it may concern,

I write in complete dismay, highlighting my complaints against Miller Homes. I have already attempted to resolve them through submitting a customer care enquiry e-form and by calling and leaving voicemails, to which I have received no response.

My main and initial complaint is that my Nationwide mortgage offer has now expired due to Miller Homes' failure to provide my property's Deed of Postponement to O'Neill Patient solicitors. The solicitors have provided me with all dates in which they have sent letters and left voicemail messages with Miller Homes chasing for this document. The first letter was dated 4th October 2011 and the number of follow up letters and phone calls without response are a cause for great concern. I am more than satisfied with their attempts and contact throughout the process. What I am less than satisfied with is that my mortgage offer expired on 5th January 2012 and that I am now left in a position of financial loss and whereby I must start the process of getting my home remortgaged all over again. I am at a loss of my initial payment to Nationwide to secure my mortgage rate (of which I will now have to pay again to secure a new rate) and also at a loss of me being unable to secure as favourable rate. My current loss totals over £2,500.

Upon being notified on 5th January 2012 that my remortgage was no longer being processed due to my offer's expiry, I used my evening to research current mortgage rates and to complete a customer care enquiry e-form; of which I requested telephone contact the following day. I also left a voicemail with the Edinburgh office's switchboard, requesting contact regarding the complaint I wished to make. The receptionist returned my call at 8:30am the following day (Friday 6th January 2011) and after explaining my concerns, she asked me to call back at 9am when the appropriate department was available. I called back at 9:10am and was put through to Natalie Drummand's voicemail. I left her a voicemail requesting a call back reference a complaint I wished to make, leaving my contact details and times I was in meetings and therefore unavailable. I received no return telephone call.

Today (9th January 2012) I called the switchboard at 10:33am and was cut-off during transfer to Natalie's extension. I attempted to call back many times following this however there was no answer. My call was finally answered at 12:36pm and for some reason I was transferred to the accounts department in Basingstoke. The gentleman was very pleasant over the telephone and explained that he would try to contact Natalie to get her to call me back and if he was unsuccessul, he would email her and 'copy me in'. I have received no call back nor an email. I am therefore left with option but to assume that the gentleman managed to get hold of Natalie and that she decided not to return my call...again.

As you could imagine, I am rather upset about this situation and would like this matter resolved as a matter of urgency. I am hesitant to make another remortgage application, making further payments and causing another stamp on my credit history, in the fear that my property's Deed of Postponement will again not be supplied and that any new mortgage offer will expire.

I would greatly appreciate a call tomorrow (10th January 2012) on to discuss this. I believe it would be appropriate for an individual senior to Natalie to make such call.

Yours faithfully,


Email sent on 10th Jan 2012:
Ann,

I write further to our telephone conversation and our subsequent text messages earlier today. I also recieved the below email from Julie Jackson today. I do not appreciate the tone of her email!

I do not see why she felt it necessary to include the first sentence. In regards to her second paragraph, Natalie clearly did not detail on her voicemail message (Friday 6th January 2012 or Monday 9th January 2012) that she was out of the business; Nor did the gentleman from the Basingstoke accounts department confirm this upon informing me that he would speak with her and if unable, copy me in on his follow-up email. Was she so bitter as to not even close the email off with (for example) yours sincerely or regards?

O'Neill Patient solicitors called me today to inform me that he had just recieved a letter from Miller Homes dated 6th January 2012. They cannot understand why Miller Homes would refuse to supply the Deed of Postponement or state that we were attempting to borrow more monies. Neither can I. This is incorrect! Also, why would Miller Homes not respond until 6th January 2012, one day after my mortgage offer had expired and also when the solicitors had been chasing since 4th October 2011.

The requests of Miller Homes have merely been to provide my property's Deed of Postponement. I do not understand why Miller Homes are even in possession of this document as Halifax and Nationwide have informed me that the motgage provider should be in possession of this document as they are the majority stakeholders. Upon purchasing my property of £240,000, Miller Homes took account of 25% (£60,000). The remaining £180,000 was mortgaged through Halifax. After my 3 years fixed term mortgage with Halifax, I am now attempting to remortgage my property with Nationwide. We applied to borrow £173,000 from them. How on earth is this me attempting to borrow more money, reducing your equity share? Upon application for the Nationwide remortgage, the £173,000 was based on our most up-to-date mortgage statement stating that we had approximately £172,700 remaining. Due to the vast amount of time taken to get to this point (of which Miller Homes is at fault), my remaining amount to remortgage currently totals £170,843.20. I calculate that through my remortgage application, Nationwide would hold 72% share, I would hold 3% and Miller Homes would still hold their 25%.

I am unsure as to why you have offered for one of your referral IFAs to help me in sourcing the best mortgage deal as through the response sent to O'Neill Patient solicitors; Miller Homes have made it clear that they will not provide my Deed of Postponement and allow me to remortgage the remaining 72% of my own property. I am unsure as to why you have been told that delay has been caused due to a change from redemption to remortgage. From the start, it has always been that I am trying to remortgage. Unfortunately, it is evident that you have been provided with incorrect information from your colleagues.

I know you as an individual are not personally at fault for this however I wish to express that I am utterly disgusted with the treatment I have been subject to from Miller Homes. Miller are completely liable for my loss. I would ask that you please call me tomorrow (Wednesday 11th January 2012) either before 10am or after 1pm to discuss this.

Yours Sincerely,






Ms Cable

I refer to your email which was sent to other divisions within the Miller Group and not to Miller Homes.

I am sorry that your calls did not get through to Natalie Drummond yesterday. Natalie was on holiday and returned to work today. Her voicemail on her phone would have confirmed that.

I am not sure why you were passed to Basingstoke.

A letter responding to your request was issued to your solicitors last week. Unfortunately we are unable to accede to the request as by borrowing more from your original lenders our equity interest in the property is diluted.

Julie Jackson




Julie Jackson| Legal Director | Miller Homes
T : 0870 336 5339 | M : 07718 516 245 | F : 0870 336 5160| www.millerhomes.co.uk

Miller House, 2 Lochside View, Edinburgh Park, Edinburgh EH12 9DH




more details »


1002Proline Equestrian Construction [Cadnam]
Total claims:1
Failure to complete agreed work or make any contact »23 Feb 200923/02/20092

I agreed with Proline to have them build an outside riding manege in middle of last year. They agreed to commence work prior to Christmas and never turned up.


They arrived in 2nd week of January 2009 and commenced work.


The work has been very infrequent - a few hours here and a few there and the owner Mr John Collis cannot now be contacted on the only number I have.  08700 612 555.


I agree that the ground has been wet and unsuitable for some of the time but I have made numerous calls and sent e-mails asking him to contact me


more details »


15879SR Sneddon [glenrothes]
Total claims:2
bankruptcy »28/7/200209/01/20112

more details »


659buildersayrshire.com / BMH Building Servicies [Irvine]
Total claims:1
Worse than bad »14/01/200916/01/20092

This post has now been deleted following a threat (made infront of a witness) by Mr Robert Hood on Friday 21st January 2011


Feel free to make up your own mind on this matter


I have posted my own personal opinion on him and his company at


[www.buildersayrshire.co] (link: http://www.buildersayrshire.co) 


Relevant details


Just a footnote to add they have changed their name (the site has the same pictures as on the flyers he gave me)


Their new name is BMH Building Servicies / buildersayrshire.com / bmh builders


They are owned by Robert Hood (also known as Bobby Hood)


They have a new address


91 Braehead, Girdle Toll, Irvine, KA11 1BG


01294 213 619 or 07547 631005


 


more details »


23759Gareth Walker /Dragon Build [London Sutton]
Total claims:1
Gareth Walker Dragon Build »17th feb 201218/02/20122
Heres a sorry tale and a warning to anyone even considering using this guy. Gareth Walker of Dragon Build. He may have abandoned his website and his business name by now.

I contracted Gareth Walker to build an extension and other works that would complete a conversion from a house to two flats.

Gareth Walker estimated the work would take 7 weeks, 7 months later he had abandoned the job in a complete state of disrepair and dodgy work.

the list of faults and incomplete work is very extensive but here are the highlights.

Sloping Floors in new extension
Paved back yard has no fall so fills with water
Kitchen floor has a lovely dip in the middle
Wrong roof insulation and no floor insulation
no building control completion will be allowed, for above
Negligent boiler installation resulting in immediate failure
No gas certificate
No electrical certificate
gas, elec and water services not connected to mains although paid for
Kitchen was installed but missing doors etc
Kitchen worktop was too low for appliances to fit and not level
Back garden brick built shed has no door or window , the roof has no fall and the felt blew off in the first storm
No new front wall built
No front painting done at all
He never called building control for the conversion although we paid him their fee

Gareth Walker of Dragon Build owes us £20000, we have now discover many other victims that have been treated the same way by him. we have now, too late discover he has 7 county court attachments to his property

Stay well clear of Gareth Walker of sutton nr london

Amongst other things I plan to paste his name all over the internet so anybody looking for him will find his shoddy dodgy record.

more details »


24085SIPit Scotland / SIP Construction Company [TIM ALLAN / GLASGOW]
Total claims:3
Fraudulent Trading »22/09/1111/03/20122
After completing the renovation of our house we scraped together enough just money to complete a small studio for my wife to carry on her successful photography business and generate enough income to help with the bills.

Unfortunately we approached Tim Allan to complete the build. Two weeks after the initial 25% deposit and still no contact with him or anyone else I took a trip to his factory to find out what was happening.

It turns out there was no factory any more.

Next we received a letter from Ken Tait accountant and agent of Tim Allan. This letter stated that the company was no longer trading.

When I called Mr Tait he informed me, at length, that Tim's business has no assets and that there is no way to force him to liquidate it. The Companies House deadline for account filling came and went and still Tim Allan has filed no accounts to indicate that the money I gave him has been anything other than used to line his quite extensive pockets. In my opinion he is purely a thief who has seriously financially compromised my family and our plans for the future. Not only did we lose £8,000 but my wife is unable to continue with a large part of her business and so pay back the money we borrowed to complete the studio.

There is no conceivable way in my mind that Tim Allan at the time of taking my deposit had no way and no intention of completing my order. The deposit given as stated by Mr Allan was for materials which he needed to buy in from another company and as such should have been imidiately passed on to SBS the SIP manufacturer.

On finding out about Tim Allan's decision to cease trading I set up a website in the name of The SIP Construction Company Ltd. I have had several interested parties contact me through this website and it turns out there are quite a few people after Mr Allan. I took the website down after his new employer threatened me with legal action for linking their business to Mr Allan.

So far to recover the money I have spoken to the Scottish version of Trading Standards who are purely telephone operators who decide to pass on the information to Trading Standards. There is no feed back so I do not know if the message got through.  I understand that his previous company was forced into liquidation by Trading Standards but as he ignored court summons etc he comes under the heading of "Too Difficult".

I spoke to a nice police woman from the Financial Crime Unit of Lothian and Borders Police who said that definitely there was a case to answer for fraudulent trading. Unfortunately she asked her Sergent how to proceed and thirty seconds later there was no way the police could help.

Next I was in touch with Companies House and as he has not followed the rules they are unable to help because they purely hold records. The rules around plc's are not enforced by any agency.

Other victims have called HMRC to point out he has made hundreds of thousands of pounds without paying tax but they can't persue him as he has no records.

Next stop is my MSP but I'm not holding out much hope.

From what I can tell we got off lightly compared to some others as the handling of money was not his only fault. I am shocked that there is no enforcment of the law by any agency in these matters and so little protection.

If you come across this character anywhere please steer well clear he seems convincing but I could find  plenty of others who could testify that he is not.

more details »


30160Bruce Shankin [New Hope, PA]
Total claims:2
Bruce Shankin, SCAM »2010-201330/05/20142

more details »


1126Dunster House Ltd [Bedford]
Total claims:2
Bad customer care »February 200903/03/20091

We bought a log cabin from Dunster House worth almost £5000.  They did not offer any discount.  Delivery was delayed because they would not accept a credit card payment which was authorised by the CC company because Dunster House said that a check on the card address and delivery address found a mismatch!.  We had paid a deposit with the same card without problem and the address for delivery is our home address to which they had sent and recived correspondence.  But they refused to agree to deliver!.  We spent days and hours on the phone trying to fix their problem, calling them and our bank.  Dunster were very unhelpful.  Eventually we paid using another card and the cabin was delivered a week late.  We had some queries about the product when we were building it.  We called Dunster but they have no technical support dept and we kept being put through to 'sales'.  The telephone manner of the receptionist was appalling, rude and abrupt.  Finally we wrote to the MD, Andrew Murphy with a 3 page letter outlining our complaints and suggestions as to how they might improve their service to customers, and we asked for compensation for our trouble and inconvenience.  He wrote a very short reply saying he did not agree with our complaint and that our big issue about payment was not his problem.  We wrote again saying we were disappointed by his response and saying that although happy with his product we were very unhappy at his reply and lack of customer care.  He failed to reply instead getting an anonymous member of staff to reply instead saying that they could do nothing and this was the end of the matter.  We have written another letter expressing our offence and intent of naming and shaming his company so that no one else gets treated this badly.


more details »


14583Dunster House Ltd [Bedford]
Total claims:2
Damaged goods »12/11/201015/11/20101
BUYER BEWARE - DUNSTER HOUSE DELIVER DAMAGED GOODS AND WILL WASH THEIR HANDS OF ANY RESPONSIBILITY.

I have recently bought a log cabin from Dunster House and when I complained that there was considerable damage to a door and window they refused to take responsibility and even had the audacity to say that I had damaged the goods.

There Customer Services are a farce there is zero service to the customer, they refuse to deal with you over the phone.

Should have known that trouble was coming even when I was paying the balance of goods 1 week before delivery when I checked delivery the consignment was going to someone elses house - I was paying someone elses bill.

MY ADVICE .... STEER WELL CLEAR.






more details »


1903lanes assistance services lte [manchester]
Total claims:1
STORM DAMAGE made worse by insurance co. »JAN 200920/04/20091

22nd jan reported.


26th jan equity red star phoned told to get builder to do patch job.


28th jan managed to get one only able to put some plastic up, urgently needed doing properly


29th lanes survoyer failed to turn up


few days later city link builders phoned to tell me one was coming fri 6th feb. didnt know about the one who didnt show


feb 6 surevor came raining while there he saw water coming in ceiling, took photos etc.


sun feb 8th 30 hours continuous rain and gales


a few days later city link builders sending some one else to look at it mon 16th feb. didnt arrive


more phone calls from them someone coming mon 19th feb. didnt arrive.


next its thurs 19th feb. they were to go over the garden from next door with their laders. the man next door told me they said they didnt need to and he saw them looking up the back of house at window. he knew the leak wasnt that part of the proberty they told him they had come from bristol.


about half hour after he told me this. phone call from city link builders to say they couldnt get in, told them they had been and seen all they needed to. they couldnt understand and were to phone back. next a man phoned to say they didnt work for city link builders but had been asked to come and look.


arranged for tuesday 24 they came and looked well past retirement age. they came over the wall and managed to dislodge my neighbours fence


mail arrived from lanes assistance dated 4th march, tell me claim rejected as it was not one off storm damage, which obviously they allowed around storms and gales for a further 6 weeks before they got these 2 rather elderly men to get up there , awful amount of this in the area which can be confirmed by any weather search, records are kept. plus they said the roof was coming to end of life. a tiled roof is good for between 50 and 70 years. this may be 20.


them man who did the patch job told me it was where wind had m9oved tiles, and they had slipped, leaving hole. alsio the builder who has done the job said the same.


i had already informed equity red star about the 28th jan i would be holding them completely responible for any further damage to my property. they allowed weeks of bad weather and incompetence from their builders to cause further damage.


this job should have been done and completely once i had notified i should have been able, like others in area get a builder to do it. not all this rubbish from equity red star, and their assistance.


i reported it to age concern in my area, their insurance person said if the insurance had been bought through them i would have been told to get someone to do it, and gave me ddetails of how to claim etc.


i asked lanes for copy of their builders report, was told it should come from equity red star, as usual they did not reply.


somewhere along the line some one was trying to make a big job of what started off, before the neglet of their builders would have been a reasonable priced small job.


i wasted money insureing insure 4 retirement


wasted on getting patch job.


and have had to pay out for the neglet of this to be put right.


more details »


15880SR Sneddon [glenrothes]
Total claims:2
BANKRUPTCY »02/01/201109/01/20111









This bunch of cowboys are trading as SR Sneddon, they have been dragged kicking and screaming through the courts both at sheriff court level and through the court of session and have been found guilty at both, Seems they love their solicitor cause they like to pay legal fees rather than doing a good job and charging a reasonable price. They advertise that the work they do is of exceptional quality and that they clean up their mess on completion of the job. I have found discarded pieces of plaster board at the back of walls. There are areas where there was a requirement for insulation, this has not been installed. There was a specification for lead flashing to be installed, the material used was flashband, unknown to me his nickname is flashband sneddon this is only a few of the problems with this cowboy, I have contacted a number of former customers of these companies, no one has a good experience, indeed one customer had to resort to living in a caravan for 3 years because of this cowboy alleged was hired to build a house, installed his own roof timbers and it turned out that the roof had undulations, the person involved made a complaint to him and was allegedly assulted. He brought in what he called a building surveyor (a friend of his!!!) to tell the person involved that there was nothing wrong with the roof, well he would say that would'nt he. He had been made bankrupt before and thought that he would get away with it this time because of that, he thought he was teflon man untouchable, wait and see, yes sir wait and see.


For further information please copy and paste these links in to your browser:-


[http://www.srsneddonbuildersltd.co.uk] (link: http://www.srsneddonbuildersltd.co.uk)


 Now have their own web site (see above link) claiming enviable reputation, please be advised-- do not be drawn in, they claim to be friendly and yes that is the impression they give. Director is a seasoned and practised liar and this has been proved in talks with building surveyor. if you decide to check out the website don't be fooled by the picture of site drawings, when these cowboys started my job they were given a full set of drawings, I assume they used them for wrapping their sandwiches because they missed out some major componentsof the build. Devious would also be a good description of this bunch of cowboys, do not part with any monies until the job they do is complete to you complete satisfaction, check and double check any work they do and in particular ensure they don't leave their rubbish at the back of platerboard walls. Ensure that insulation is as per specification. These cowboys will cut corners where ever they can make more money from using out of spec materials or where it saves them time, but it will cost you just the same, not only in money terms but in peace of mind terms. 


The above shows that the some of the partners, directors, former directors have been through the courts system in relation to what they call quality work, as claimed already in my opinion they are a bunch of cowboys.


 




more details »


16559nono [BIRMINGHAM]
Total claims:1
UNAUTHORISED DEBIT FROM MY BANK ACCOUNT. »8/2/201108/02/20111
I had £45 debited from my account between the 4th and the 8th of Feb 2011. I transfered £50 to my current account only to find out after contacting my Bank ( Barclays ) that it was taken out by a Company call LOAN CENTRE.NET based some where in Essex Post Code SS1 1BJ. My bank gave me a phone number 08707542310 when I call that number I was given another 084444445679500 that is just saying Welcome to Loan Cent re, then it's endless music.. I have no business with these people what soever. My Bank stated that I will get my money back in seven days time thats on the 14 Feb 2011. Is there anything I can do as I am rather up set and I am a sick person. the money was my benefit money and I can't travel for my treatment because of this theft.

more details »


23170dunster house [Bedford]
Total claims:3
Poor customer service by Dunster House »21/01/1223/01/20121
I bought a log cabin from Dunster House last year, and I must say it did get installed as planned, and we are very happy with it still. However, my complaint is about their poor customer service for a follow-on query I had for them.

I wanted to enhance my log-cabin by attaching a gutter to it, and was keen to see their instructions (a PDF document) for the guttering they provide, in order to get an idea of how they attach it best. I contacted customer services for the PDF and the answer I received was "since you did not buy the guttering from us we cannot give you the instructions". I replied that I don't mind to read instructions for their guttering system, sicne I just want an idea of how they do it. Same answer. Incidentally, same fobbing-off answer. no recognition of what I have explained. What is wrong with sending a PDF? It costs nothing.

I ask for my query to be forwarded to the CS manager. The answer I receive is "please see previous email". how rude is that?! My mail was never forwarded to the manager.

Couple days later I receive a communication from them, which is simply the invoice for the house stamped "Paid in Full". No other note. Presumably this is to signify that the previous business is completed, and that if I want ANYTHING else from them I need to buy something from them.

My wife decides to call them and ask to be passed on to the manager so she can register a complaint in their service. As soon as she said this, without a further word, the first representative put her on a automated voice response telling her all complaints must be received in writing blah blah. My wife tries again, explains what happened and says that she wants to speak to her manager. The person replies "I am not allowed to do that" and puts her on the same AVR as before.

I find this a disgraceful way to treat a former, and potentially recurring, customer. It does not take much to make customers happy. Showing some kind of concern or interest is a good place to start!

more details »


23760Gareth Walker [London Sutton]
Total claims:1
No Kitchen »30th Dec 201118/02/20121
Gareth Walker of Dragon Build sutton London

I was using Gareth Walker to do another job which was about 5 weeks in and seemed to be alright

I asked him to fit a new kitchen in another flat I own in north london

He sent me designs and we agreed and I paid him(stupid I know)
He used Benchmarx to design and provide cad designs and illutrations plus a complete breakdown on the parts and costs. This made him look very proffesional

despite umpteen promises that included

Its Made and waiting for collection.
Im going to collect it today many times
its in my van
Its being delivered today many times

I contacted Benchmarx and they just basically ignored my request for any help

In the end Gareth Walker admitted that he had never ordered the kitchen and he was sorry.

To date the kitchen has never surfaced and never will

I have asked formally for a refund

Despite promises of part payment to me , nothing has ever been paid.

Gareth Walker is nothing short of a con man psing as a builder, very plausable and charming but dishonest

more details »


23937SIPit Scotland / SIP Construction Company [TIM ALLAN / GLASGOW]
Total claims:3
Defrauded by kit building maunafacturer »2/12/1101/03/20121

1.We commissioned Tim Allan, Managing Director of SIPit Scotland, to design, supply and erect a kit for our self build eco-house project on Gigha in 2010.
2.The SIP kit contract was for c.£54,000 with the SIP Construction Company.
3.We had been conducting all our business with SIPit Scotland up to contract signing. This company ceased trading in 2008 but Mr Allan was still using this name. The website still uses this trading name. His email addresses used this company name. His SIP Panel supplier (SBS) also uses this name on its website as a ‘partner company’.
4.He provided a plausible explanation when this was queried.
5.We paid 10% for design of the kit package – basically a series of engineering drawings. This allowed us to secure a Building Warrant in June 2010 and we commenced substructure works.
6.We were approached by Mr Allan at the end of January 2011 seeking the first stage payment of c.£21,000, although we were not ready. He explained that he had five customers, similarly delayed by the weather and would have a lot of pressure of work if we all wanted the kits constructed at the same time. By paying the instalment early the kit would be made up and stored for us on an adjacent site, wrapped in plastic. The kit was never made.
7.Continuing wet weather meant we did not complete the substructure ready for house kit erection until October 19th 2011.
8.We then arranged three kit deliveries and the build in two phases. We arranged accommodation for the build crew who were to accompany the first kit delivery.
9.Mr Allan visited on 2nd November to check substructure and kit delivery. He took phone photographs of the access and some very basic wall measurements
10.I was again led to believe the kit was made and stored as per the stage payment in March and ready to be transported, except for some of the fillets. We wanted the kit transported immediately but Mr Allan made an excuse that the sections would have to be arranged in construction sequence for delivery and the phased build. We discussed build details – e.g. he wanted to be able to drill into the concrete floor during erection to support walls if it got windy.
11.He then presented us with another invoice for the next stage payment of c.£16,000 which was to cover delivery and the first phase of erection.
12.Mr Allan was impossible to contact over the next few weeks and we missed an obvious good weather window. He did not reply to queries and we spoke with Lesley Murray (sales assistant) in order to leave messages.
13.We got a date for the first kit delivery and booked the crew accommodation, but had to defer this due to bad weather. Then, and without prior notice, on 4th December in the evening I received an email telling me the kit was loaded and would he delivered the next morning.
14.The total delivery was of 25% of the kit. Major omissions were the steel strapping and angled fillets that would hold the roof on. The small roundhouse could not be erected without the missing components. The kit was freshly cut
15.We received a letter on 9th December dated 2nd December stating that SIP Construction Company had ceased trading with immediate effect. Our kit was actually delivered after the company had ceased trading.
16.The Company had no assets and an application to have the company struck off the register was to be made.
17.The missing elements of the kit are approximately £32,000. We contacted Mr Allan and Mr Tait to seek clarification and when the rest of the kit could be collected. The kit does not exist. It was not made.
18.We have received no communication from Mr Allan at all, again contrary to Companies Law.
19.Companies House have dismissed complaints on procedural grounds but have not compelled Mr Allan to comply with due process for example provide notifications to creditors.
20.Companise House investigators will not tell a complainant whether they follow up a complaint or provide any feedback on the results of any investigation. They are entirely unanswerable.
21.This first company was put into compulsory liquidation by HMRC. That company had been trading whilst insolvent (information from previous business partner) . According to the rules the liquidator should have reported to Companies House that he was not a fit person to be a Director.
22.The Police claim that the deceptions involved are not criminal, despite our circumstances exactly matching the criteria for fraud under Scottish Law.
23.We have lost a substantial part of our life savings and are left with a building site and no home and no way of securing funds to replace the lost £32,000.
Further information at http://ardaillyecoroundhouses.blogspot.com/
Website at www.ecoroundhouse.co.uk





more details »


26409Dragon Build/Gareth Walker
Total claims:1
Rip Off Builder »201122/08/20121
Do not under any circumstances use Gareth Walker or his company Dragon Build. He left my house in a complete state of disrepair, used an unqualified electrician to re-wire the property and almost caused the outside wall of the rear of my property to collapse.

Gareth Walker is a con-artist and liar. Do not trust him.

more details »


27498Damian brown construction [Kent]
Total claims:1
Non purchase of kitchen already paid for »May 201224/11/20121
DBC. Collected 8000 pounds for the supply of a new kitchen as we were having extension work done. DBC dismantled our old kitchen and left us with no kitchen then disappeared into space. DBC has not responded to calls or emails or letters. Dbc carried out poor quality extension works and most of this is now bing redone. Roof has been dismantled as it was poorly fitted and started to leak. Above all, building control was never informed of roof. Makeshift glass inserted and called skylight despite Dbc collecting 800 pounds for designer glass.

Beware of this mop any. It has been an absolute nightmare. We are still waiting for response from DBC and yet to get our monies refunded. DBC fronts a so called professional look so can be ver deceptive. It's been a very painful year but justice will come.

more details »



1   2   3   4   »»   »»»











Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Contact Us